Louisiana Child Restraint Laws
Louisiana state laws regarding child restraints in vehicles are based on the age and weight of the child. Unlike other states, Louisiana does not require children to be in the back seat, nor is there a penalty for a child sitting in the front seat of a vehicle as long as they are in the proper restraints. There is a $100 fine for children under the age of 12 who are not properly secured. For children and adults over the age of 13, the fine is $25 for a first offense.
Child Safety Seats
Child safety seats are required for infants and toddlers up to three years old or 39 pounds. Infants under the age of one or weighing less than 20 pounds are required to be in a rear-facing child safety seat. Children between the ages of one and three, or weighing between 20 and 39 pounds, are required to be in forward-facing child safety seats.
Child Booster Seats
Louisiana laws state that all children who are ages of four and five, or who weigh between 40 and 60 pounds, are required to be in properly fitting and installed child booster seats. There are no specifics regarding the type of booster seat, however, the booster seat should be designed for the specific weight of the child.
Beginning at 6-years-old, children over 60 pounds are allowed to sit in an adult seat belt without a booster seat as long as it is properly secured. All children and adults are required to be in a fastened seat belt, although the fine for children under 12-year-old who are not wearing seat belts is much larger than for an adult.
Louisiana is one of six states that require seat belts on school buses 1. The state law requires that all public and private school buses used to transport children to and from school be equipped with seat belts.
- child in the car image by Natalia Pavlova from Fotolia.com