Baby Bonding and California Law
According to the California Family Rights Act (CFRA), a woman can take up to 12 weeks of time off work for bonding with her new born in addition to the the four months granted for pregnancy disability leave 1.
Under the California Family Rights Act, an employer must offer job protection for 12 weeks in addition to continuation of benefits.
A woman must have worked for her employer for one year and logged at least 1,250 physical hours prior to requesting leave.
While the CFRA does not grant paid leave, California Paid Family Leave legislation does provide wages at 55 percent for six weeks 1.
Pregnancy Disability Leave
Not intended for postnatal bonding, the Pregnancy Disability Leave act requires employers to ensure job security for woman who have severe morning sickness, or are advised against working by their doctors.
Always discuss leave options with your employer, it may have a program in place that exceeds state requirements 1.
- Newborn image by jhogan from Fotolia.com