Teen Driving Laws in Ohio
Teenage drivers in Ohio take part in a graduated driver's license program that allows them to learn the rules of the road under restricted and supervised conditions. Teens are issued a permit and then a probationary driver license with full driving privileges issued when they turn 18. Laws regulating teen driving vary with the type of license issued to the teen and his age. Knowing the license requirements and expectations help teens adhere to Ohio driving laws.
Teens who are at least 15 years and 6 months old are able to apply for a Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Card. Teens must pass a driving knowledge test and vision screening and provide proof of age, identity and Social Security number as well as provide parental consent before a TIPIC is issued. Teens holding a TIPIC who are under 16 years of age must only drive with a parent, guardian or driving instructor in the front passenger seat, while teens over 16 may drive in the presence of any license holder over the age of 21. Before obtaining a driver's license, TIPIC holders must complete 24 hours of classroom driving instruction, eight driving hours with a certified instructor, 50 documented driving hours with 10 hours of night driving and have held the TIPIC for at least six months.
License Holders Under Age 17
Teens who have been issued a probationary driver license and are under 17 years old must carry only one passenger, who is not a family member, unless a parent or guardian is also a passenger in the vehicle. Driving between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m. is prohibited, unless the teen is accompanied by a parent or guardian. In addition, teens who receive a driving violation within their first six months holding a license must have a parent or guardian accompany them while driving for six months following the violation, or until the teen turns 17 years old.
Licensed teen drivers who are between the ages of 17 and 18 are not eligible to drive between 5 a.m. and 1 a.m. unless driving to school or work or accompanied by a parent or guardian. Teens who acquire three moving vehicle violations before age 18 have their license suspended for a year and certain single violations before age 18 result in a six month suspension. All teenage drivers must provide enough seatbelts for all passengers.
- Monkey Business Images Ltd/Valueline/Getty Images